Book Review: The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo

Today’s book review is on the book by Amy Schumer called The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo! Matt bought me this book just before Christmas and I was so excited to read it. I’ve followed Amy Schumer’s work for quite some time now and I really inspire her because she is so down to earth. Having read her book I now feel like we’re more alike than I thought. Matt and Megan have both told me that I remind them of Amy Schumer and I never understood why until I read this book.

My favourite thing about this book is that no chapter is the same. She discusses different aspects of her life throughout each chapter and how it affected her and made her the person she is now. Having learnt more about her I now understand how hard she worked to be successful in the entertainment industry and how difficult it was for her to be accepted as a female comedian and appreciated for her talents. It’s been made aware that females sometimes have it harder to break out into the entertainment industry and Amy made me more aware of how difficult it was for her. Having always known she wanted to make people laugh she aspired to be a stand-up comedian and was knocked so many times by so many people who didn’t believe in her (more fool them). She worked so hard to show people how serious she was about her work and continues to do so even though she’s so known now.

She also discusses the fact that she is an introvert even though she comes across as an extrovert (100% me!) and how she hates to be around people too long as she likes her own space. I admire her for this because of how alike we are. For me I personally like my own company more than being with too many people, not that I don’t like being around people, I just appreciate my space which gives me time to breath and relax. It’s hard work having a bubbly and enthusiastic personality all the time and I really enjoy the space to read a book or watch a film alone. Amy discusses how difficult this can be when you’re working on the road and being with the same people all the time. It’s hard and emotionally draining. Reading this part actually made me feel for her so much because I know how difficult it really is.

Throughout the book she discusses her relationship with previous boyfriends, her sexual partners and her family. I love the fact that she is so close with her siblings, it’s so heartwarming to read about her love for them. She talks about her feelings and experiences through emotional, physical and sexual abuse as well as gun control in America. She really is so human and so different to most celebrities and I just think it’s refreshing to read about someone who knows it’s ok to have flaws.

Social media:

Twitter: _bbbethan

Instagram: _bbbbethan

Use my discount code bethdavies20 for 20% off at http://www.coconut-lane.com

With love, B x

One thought on “Book Review: The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo

Leave a comment