Book Review: When We Collided

I recently come across a new author to me, named Emery Lord. I purchase two of three books that she has published, When We Collided was the first I read. 
I was in the mood to read lovey-dovey, romantic novels and after reading the first chapter of both books and the back of the book, I knew that this would be a good read. Let’s get to the point, it didn’t fail me & I really enjoyed this book. 
Jonah and his family had experienced the dreadful loss of his father and never thought he would feel normal again. Vivi had moved to his home town for the summer with her artist mother in hopes to start experiencing the world in a way she’s always wanted too, happy. Never did they both know that, during the summer they would experience their first love that consumed them. 

It’s been months that I have come across a book that I’ve become obsessed with. This one really did it for me, I read this during the summer when I had been missing Matt so much and it just helped me to relive the happy memories and all of the loving feelings I have for him.

I especially liked that the stigma of mental health and death hadn’t been ignored and instead, totally emphasised in the most powerful and thoughtful way. Emery hadn’t ignored the fact that people have difficulties regardless of what they are and she noticed that all problems and life changing events should be recognised. 

The story was beautiful and full of love between two teenagers that eventually realised how to love themselves again. 

With love, Beth x 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: When We Collided

Leave a Reply

