What’s Up, Buttercup?

During the past 5 weeks a lot of things have happened but most importantly of all, I received my university classification and I realised I have to get my shit together. 

I graduated Aberystwyth University with a upper second class honours degree in Childhood Studies BA Hons (2:1). This is a huge achievement that I’m extremely proud of, in fact I can’t believe it’s happened. I’ve spent the last 3 years working so incredibly hard to achieve this degree and I never thought I would achieve the grade that I did, let alone have a first in my dissertation. 

However, nobody prepares you to finish university and enter the real world and become a proper adult. I honestly believe that there should be a third year module called How to Adult. This should be on all higher education courses. 

So, I had decisions to make. To move home, find a full time job and make a start on adulting. Or another option, stay in university and do a Masters of Arts degree. Well, after serious consideration I’m prepared for 2 more years in university to study a MA degree in Equality and Diversity in Society. 

Only three years ago I was preparing to study my first degree, now I’m preparing to move to a new town and study my next. Am I ready to start adulting? Absolutely not. Do I have to do it anyway? Absolutely, just throw myself in the deep end and pray that I can swim. 

MA degrees are funded differently and I don’t have student finance to pay my tuition fees for me now. Instead, I’ll receive a 10,000 loan for the 2 year period and £6000 of that will be spent on the course. Therefore I need a job with plenty of hours and a decent pay to fund my lifestyle and bills. It’ll be hard yes, but I’m so looking forward to a fresh start and a change in lifestyle. 

Onto the next adventure! 

Leave a Reply

