My Actual Morning Routine 

Nobody likes mornings and if you do well we just can’t be friends. I will admit that I’m normally awake before 9am on my days off from uni because I like to stick to a sleeping pattern for the days that I am actually busy doing things (I know i’m lame). However, I see all these Bloggers and Youtuber’s posting about their morning routine and none of them seem realistic at all and it’s about time we started showing people what an actual morning routine really is like. So let’s get straight into it! 

UNIVERSITY DAY

On a day when I have to be up for a 9am or early start in uni, I generally wake up about half an hour before I’m due to be there. Get myself in a total fluster because I’m probably going to be late and I’m one of those people that if i’m late I simply won’t go. I don’t exactly help myself by waking up half an hour before I’m due to be there but I just like to sleep as long as I can. Generally I don’t put any makeup on, I’ll wash my face and brush my teeth and sometimes because I’m human I may even forget to do that. I’ll brush my hair and throw it in a messy bun and dress in jeans, hoodie and converse ready for a lecture/seminar. My days are generally quite fast so once I finish with my time on campus I’ll head home and do my makeup, hair and start my day properly after it.

I don’t understand how people can sit down for like half an hour of their day to drink 4 different types of drinks and a proper meal and a full work out before spending an hour getting ready, that’s not realistic at all. I’m lucky enough to grab a piece of fruit and get out the door. I generally shower at night so I don’t have to get up early in the morning but if I didn’t do it the night before I’ll go home after my lecture and do it then. 

FREE DAY

On a day that I’m free like a weekend when I don’t have any specific plans or have to be up early I’ll start my day off by waking up whenever I fancy and have a scroll through my social media to catch up with my messages and the events throughout the night. Shortly after I’ll head to the bathroom, brush my teeth and wash my face and then head to the kitchen to make myself some breakfast. After this depending on my mood and what I plan on doing that I’ll day i’ll either shower to wake myself up or have a nice relaxing bath and after this spend an hour or so getting myself ready for the day, so hair, makeup and dress myself. I’ll probably take stops between these times to watch a T.V show or read some of my book but because these days as so free I don’t mind taking that little extra longer with my breakfast or time to read a bit of a book. After I’ve done these things is usually when I decide what I want to do with my day, they’re usually quite chilled and relaxed. 

I really like to give myself this time on my day off to unwind and feel a bit more relaxed from any uni work or stress that may be building up. As I struggle with panic attacks and overloading myself with stress I find it really important that a few times a week I give myself some me time and have a break. 

As much as I would like to be one of those people who get out of bed at 6am, go to the gym and have their life together. I am not. I don’t mind if I look a little messy for a 9am but if I know I have a really important meeting to go to I will make that little extra effort and get up slightly earlier to make myself presentable. Everybody has these expectations that they feel that they have to meet and for me, getting out of bed hours in advance before my 9am lecture is not something I feel will benefit me at all. Nobody cares if I walk into my lecture with unbrushed teeth and hair because it’s likely there are plenty of us doing the same. 

Social media: 

Twitter: _bbbethan

Instagram: _bbbbethan

With love, Beth x 

4 thoughts on “My Actual Morning Routine 

  1. At last! A genuine morning routine that makes me not feel like I should be in glam makeup and busy every day! I watch Youtubers and yell at them that I have a real life, I have a kid and other things like that lol Life just doesn’t allow for perfection all the time 🙂

    Like

      1. Exactly but thanks to ‘Beauty Gurus’ (imo) it makes the guilt creep up on you. I worry about the girls of the future, thankfully I am happy without makeup and messy hair…mind you the fact I have exceptionally curly hair means I can get away with that last one lol

        Like

  2. I normally drag myself out of bed, into the shower, throw on some concealer and mascara and go to work. I rarely eat breakfast before work. Sometimes I eat while I’m stuck in traffic but normally i get a cup of tea and a biscuit as I’m sitting down around 9. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

