10 Thing I’ve Learned From Amy Schumer

Amy Schumer has become a worldwide success and one of the most influential women in the entertainment industry. She is known for her work as a stand-up comedian, actress, producer, director and writer and the woman  with the lower back tattoo. She’s utterly fantastic, her experiences throughout her life have been shown in her book and after reading it I couldn’t help but share some of my favourite quotes from it. She’s brilliant and having been a fan of her work for sometime now I’ve learned a few things from her. So here we have it, 10 things I’ve learned fr Amy Schumer. Enjoy!

“I’m a flawed fuckup and I haven’t figured anything out, so I have no words of wisdom to offer you.” 

We’re human. It’s totally acceptable to be a fuckup on occasions and make mistakes but that’s okay because there are 7 billion people in the world who do the exact same thing. 

“Never let a magazine or dating site or matchmaker monster tell them they’re in a lower bracket of desirability because of their age, weight, face or sense of humour”

Regardless of your appearance you deserve to be treated with the same respect as everybody else. Nobody was born looking the same (except identical twins) and if I’m totally honest, I don’t want to be a size 4 model. Be happy with who you have, love yourself.

“You don’t need a man, boy or self-proclaimed love expert to tell you your worth”

We are all worthy of kindness, love and respect. Don’t get me wrong, it’s nice for people to acknowledge my worth but I don’t need it. I know I’m valued and I deserve to be just like everybody else. 
“You are hot and the person who loves you won’t notice 10 extra pounds. I promise”

Weight doesn’t determine love or worth. You can lose or gain pounds and still be an asshole, it’s who you are that counts.

“He was the most beautiful man I had ever seen, and I was immediately turned on just looking at him. Quick side note: THAT NEVER FUCKING HAPPENS. Every day, men look at women walk by in skirts and tight jeans and get tiny erections, or at the very least some sort of arousal. But for women it’s a rare occurrence to see a dude and think, dayummmmm!” 

For all those men who think that all woman walk around admiring every man they see. You’re wrong. Not once have I walked down the street and thought about how much I wanted to rip his clothes off. It doesn’t happen, it’s not a lynks deodorant advert.

“When you get older and wiser, you get your confidence from within, not from the person you are having sex with” 

Do I have to explain anymore from this quote? She nailed it on the head. You’re the only person who can change your confidence.

“You become a woman the first time you get fitted for a bra and realise you’ve been wearing the wrong size your whole fucking life”

I was 20 years old. 20! Once I had been measured I realised I was wearing the wrong size for so long. No wonder I hated bras so much.

“We girls are conditioned to the no we should hold out or we’d be a labelled a slut”

Girls can have sex as much as guys can. What differences does it make? The number of people that women or men have slept with does not determine how valued they are by others. 

“Isn’t it sad that when a girl says she was sexually assaulted, our first instinct is to think she’s probably lying” 

Sexual assault is not something to be joked about or used as a lie. So many women and men experience sexual assault and it’s pushed aside because of other people’s ignorance. 

“There is nothing better than being your own boss. Well, there is, actually: not having to work at all”

I couldn’t think of anything better than being my own boss and eventually this is something I’ll achieve. How could you not want to be in control of your working hours and how your work load can influence others around you. 

I personally think Amy Schumer is more real than most understand. I’m all of these quotes she points out obvious statements but not that obvious to most of society. 

Check out my social media: 

Twitter: _bbbethan 

Instagram: _bbbbethan 

Use my discount code bethdavies20 for 20% off at http://www.coconut-lane.com 

With love, Beth x 

One thought on “10 Thing I’ve Learned From Amy Schumer

Leave a Reply

