How To Prepare To Write An Assignment

Hey!

As a student I know how difficult it is to actually sit down and write an assignment. The worst bit for me is definitely the mentally preparing myself to actually attempt to write it, especially when I’ve not created a plan or if I don’t actually understand what I’m doing. These are my few tips and tricks that can help you to prepare yourself and become motivated to actually write an assignment.

#1: Look at the assignment guidelines, check what your assignment requires and begin to think about how you’re going to go around it. Doing this will help you to discover what the title asks if you and during this time you can begin to mentally prepare the content of your assignment.

#2: Create a step by step plan. Doing this will help you to place your content into the correct areas. Ensure that you’re sticking to the plan through the writing process, if you don’t you may find yourself going off track and writing the wrong content. An example below:

-Introduction 

– Main text 

Paragraph 1:

  • Bullet point notes and subtitles, this will help you to stick to your content.

Paragraph 2:

Paragraph 3:

– Conclusion 

#3: Reading the recommended reading is so important as it’s a starting point to where you can begin to write your assignment. The recommended reading list is clearly recommnded for a reason and it’s a crucial area for the writing process. I was definitely this person to avoid the reading and it always ended up with a bad grade.

#4: Don’t begin an assignment hungry, ever. Get yourself some snacks and a drink to settle you for a few hours. This way you won’t get distracted when you’re becoming bored and you can reward yourself with new snacks every time you’ve finished a big section.

#5: Create a space full of no distraction. Boredom can give you the opportunity to clean your room, organise your DVDs and CDs alphabetically or wash the windows. I always make my way to the library and give myself a distraction free zone. There is nothing in the library that I’ll find distracting other than social media and I’ll have to resist the urge.

Let me know how you prepare yourself to write an assignment! Check out my social media:

Instagram: _bbbbethan

Twitter: __bbbethan

With love, B x

Leave a Reply

