GILMORE GIRLS REVIVAL! 

I waited so long for new episodes of Gilmore Girls and they did it, 4 brand new 90 minute episodes and I couldn’t hold my excitement in. I love Gilmore Girls, it’s my go to tv series to watch when I’m feeling a little bit down and sorry for myself. It was a part of me throughout my adolescent years and even now as an adult it makes me think so much about my life. Gilmore Girls revival is a 4 part show that is filmed in each season of the year, beginning with Winter. After 10 years of being gone it’s finally returned and if I’m honest, it didn’t wow me at all. In fact, I was quite disappointed with it.

For me, the best part about the show was that Luke and Lorelai finally got their happy ever after. They were supposed to be together throughout the whole show and I couldn’t have been happier with their story. The fact that they finally got married made the show worth watching. Another part that I couldn’t help but cry at, was discussing Richard’s death and the funeral scene. As soon as I found out Gilmore Girls Revival was a thing I knew that Edward Hermann wouldn’t be in it and I was worried how the writers would go around it. However, they wrote in him beautifully and gave him the goodbye everybody needed. Such a lovely tribute to Edward! 

I still can’t believe that Sookie St James played a small cameo in the revival. Her character played such a positive and important role to Gilmore Girls and not having her in it just seemed so wrong. It wasn’t right and it felt like there was a part missing. 

After Gilmore Girls finished I always had it in my mind that Rory would have ended up back with Logan. I had my heart set on it. They were the ideal couple full of banter, fun and love and when Rory gave back the engagement ring in the final season I was devastated. Now in the revival they’re having a secret open relationship whilst Logan is engaged and Rory has a boyfriend. What is that?! It’s not what I had expected nor wanted. They’re grown adults who know better than to treat people with no respect and cheat. It just made me dislike Rory’s character more than I ever did before. 

Episodes 1 and 4 were my favourite, they were written by the original writer of Gilmore a Girls and they were fab. I never felt bored through them and really enjoyed watching them, unlike the 2nd and 3rd episode. In episode 3 there is Stars Hollow musical and it takes up 15 minutes of the episode. It’s the most pointless and boring scene ever, it’s too long and was totally unnecessary for the show. It wasted time and more could have been included about Rory, Lorelai and Emily. 

Overall I was truly disappointed by the revival but I do hope more episodes are released to close the story of Rory’s pregnancy. If you really enjoyed the Gilmore Girls revival then please don’t take offence to my opinion on it. I understand that others have different tastes and for me I just wasn’t happy with the turn out of the show. 



Let me know what you guys thought of it. 

Social media:

Twitter: _bbbethan

Instagram: _bbbbethan 
With love, B x

Leave a Reply

