Book Review: We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves

Another weekly book review, remember to check them out every Friday at 1pm. This weeks review is by far the weirdest of them all, it’s by the author Karen Joy Fowler and is called, We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves. Usually when I begin a new book I’ve normally finished it within a few days, except this one. This one took me near two weeks to read and not because it was boring or didn’t make me enthusiastic. It did, in fact whenever I picked it up I would be reading for ages. However, once I had read a few chapters I found that I had to put it down for a few days for the story line and information to actually sink in. I got all types of confused about this book.

The story is told by Rosemary, daughter of a psychologist. Now 22 years old and in college Rosemary begins to think more and more about her beloved brother, Lowell and sister, Fern. Realising that in order to move on she must make peace with her past and begin to relive the time at 5 years old, having been sent home from her grandparents to find Fern gone.

Now, you’ve probably read the above paragraph thinking there is the possibility that both siblings somehow died, possible kidnapping etc. Well stop, you’re wrong. I don’t want to give too much away in case some of you are really interested in this book. However, what I will say is that this book is 308 pages of utter confusion but totally captivating and brilliantly written. It’s so smart and gripping, the intelligence is overwhelming. I do think i’m probably going to re-read this overtime just because it was so educating. Recommend to those who love anything educational or psychological!

Check out my other areas of the internet!

Twitter: _bbbethan

Instagram: _bbbbethan

lots of love, Beth x

2 thoughts on “Book Review: We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves

  1. This one is on my TBR list… it sounds a bit like The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley – that book was brilliant, but I got very confused and even a little annoyed when I read it, because it stirred up so much emotion. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

