Food For Thought.

I recently read something and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. It said:

“The biggest communication problem is we don’t listen to understand. We listen to reply”

I will admit, I found this so hard to read because I realised how true it was and how I most definitely do this, but not purposely. I struggled to comprehend something that is so simple to do, it’s an activity that comes naturally to us. Even when you don’t want to admit it. My friends often say how supportive I am as a person and I love knowing people think that of me. The majority of the time I try to be an supportive and understanding person. I understand that we all have individual backgrounds and things happen that we can’t explain and need to rant to someone about our problems. Although on those occasions even I forget to show empathy for other people and put my own problems first. Sometimes I listen to others but I don’t always have empathy because I’ve not paid enough attention to comprehend what they are saying. As humans, we all struggle with things in our lives and sometimes they become so overwhelming that you forget others need you and require your support, advice and love. It may be selfish but it’s what happens. You prioritise yourself over other people and often listen because you know it’s the right thing but not listen to understand what that person has gone through and how they are feeling. It’s wrong and I know that.

During our lives we will no doubt come across obstacles that become so overwhelming and take over so much of your life, that you forget others need you and require your support, advice and love. It may be selfish but it’s what happens. You prioritise yourself over other people and often listen because you know it’s the right thing but not listen to understand what that person has gone through and how they are feeling. It’s wrong and I know that. I think we should all learn that sometimes it’s okay to be selfish and think of yourself once in a while, but it so important to remember that your loved ones also need you. Spend 5 minutes of your time with your loved ones, ask them about their day and be there for them to vent too. Show love, attention and support. They’ll appreciate it more than you will ever know. Pay attention to these people and listen to help them, understand their thoughts and feelings and remember that It’s okay to be human. It’s okay to have flaws. You make mistakes and you learn from them. Learn to be a better version of you.

Check out my social media:

Instagram: _bbbbethan

Twitter: _bbbethan

Leave a Reply

