Book Review: The Marble Collector

This week’s book review is of Cecelia Ahern’s novel, The Marble Collector. I’ve been a fan of Cecelia Ahern for so long in fact P.S I Love You was the first book I ever read. I’m pretty sure I was 13 when I read it. Every book she has ever written has made me wanting more and left me so mesmerised with her writing. This book is just as good as all the others she has written and I look forward to reading more by her. I bought mine on Amazon for £9 when it was first released, now it’s around £4 and can be bought here.

Sabrina is a mother, daughter, and wife. Her father, Fergus has been a player a big role in her life for as long as she can remember and she couldn’t ever imagine him being any different. After stumbling across a box of marbles she starts to look for the story being them. Her father had been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and has lost the memories of his life, little did he know that his history would change his daughter’s life forever. By the end of the book, Sabrina had discovered her father had been living a life that nobody knew existed, although a very happy life. His childhood hadn’t been the best but he made the most of what he had whilst growing up. Sabrina discovered the truth about her father and also the truth about herself.

Personally, I loved this book. It was magical to read, it had so much life to it. I thought it was beautiful, the story was actually really sad and as I am known to cry at books/films. This one left me heartbroken. It made me think so much about my own father and the secrets he holds and continues to hold. The characters were so realistic and Fergus actually left me quite annoyed as he was able to keep such a huge part of his life away from his family. It was wonderful and a book I would happily read again.

If you liked this book I recommend these too:

The Choice by Susan Lewis: Available here.

The Real Katie Lavender by Erica James: Available here.

A Light Between Oceans by M.L Stedman: Available here.

With love, B x

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Marble Collector

Leave a Reply

