Bridget Jones’s Baby // Review

Last night my friend, Liz and I went to see the newly released film, Bridget Jones’s Baby. I wasn’t disappointed at all, it’s full of love, laughter and added sarcasm for that extra buzz. It’s also totally realistic and relates to so many woman across the world, not just us British ladies. So, to read my review of the lady herself , carry on!

I’ve been a huge fan of Bridget Jones since I first watched them at the age of 14 and I loved her then and I love her more now. She is utterly brilliant and reminds me of myself on so many levels. To me, she is truly iconic character and just doesn’t fail to make me laugh, cry and generally blow up with excitment. The first two films were bloody brilliant, they’re both a classic example of a British rom-com and the new movie just fits in perfectly. Bridget is simply a modern British woman who creates some tricky situations for herself, fails at living the single life and has some horrible bad habits. In hope to change her life , she plans to stop smoking, quit drinking and focus on living a healthier lifestyle but like all woman in this day and age, has some slip-ups. In the newly released film, it skips 12 years into her life and Bridget is now a single mother-to-be, whilst still getting herself into difficult situations. This one being bigger than usual as she doesn’t know who the father of her child is between the love of her life and ex, Mark or the handsome new addition to her life, Jack.

The new film Bridget Jones Baby is fantastic. Normally I find that sequels to films aren’t ever on the same level as the first but all three of the Bridget Jones films are brilliant. They each compliment each other and the franchise perfectly, whilst they all represent the modern woman and how having a love for food and embracing bad habits is totally acceptable. Of all the ways the writers could have portrayed Bridget, Renee Zellweger creates and plays the character so well that I actually forget Bridget isn’t a real person. Renee also has an excellent British accent and clearly works hard to make Bridget the character that she is.

It’s absolutely and utterly brilliant and I didn’t stop laughing from the beginning until the end. In fact, I’ve not seen a film quite like it this year yet. Its made an excellent edition to the Bridget Jones series and I believe it to be a brilliant end to the collection. However, I wouldn’t ever turn down another new film as long as its as brilliant as the first three.

Let me know what you thought of the film, did you love it as much as I did?

With love, B x

One thought on “Bridget Jones’s Baby // Review

Leave a Reply

