Book Review: Am I Normal Yet?

Hey humans,

This week’s book review is on the novel Am I Normal Yet? By Holly Bourne. This touching, a heartfelt story has really hit home for me. I bought mine on Amazon for £4, you can get it here. Little did I know when buying this book that it is, in fact, the first book of a 3 part series, all available on Amazon and are called “The Spinster Series”.

The first book of this series is called Am I Normal Yet? and for me this book hit home. I had come across this whilst purchasing The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson (Also available on Amazon here). I had read the reviews and thought it seemed interesting. Having had it for several months a friend of mine told me about it and said how much it reminded her of me and my own situation with anxiety. At that point I had remembered that I owned it and instantly went home to read it, just to understand what she meant.

This book is about a 16-year-old girl who is finishing her high school career and struggles with OCD and anxiety and just wants to be normal. Evie had longed to be just like her friends, a normal carefree 16-year-old girl whose biggest worry is what boy is going to like them next or how the up and coming party is going to turn out. For Evie, it wasn’t that simple. Evie had struggled with OCD and constantly desired to live in a clean and bacteria free environment. Having continued visited with a therapist and being placed on medication, Evie eventually had started being taken off the medication and begun feeling more herself. She had found herself the best of friends and even had some male attention. Until those feelings of normality stopped and Evie began feeling more anxiety and her OCD had begun causing issues.

This book is excellent, the plot is told brilliantly and provides a thorough explanation of the day to day life of an individual who struggles with mental health issues. It’s beautiful. I recommend this book to anybody and especially those who struggle with anxiety and OCD and most definitely people who would like to understand more about OCD and Anxiety. It’s written with experience and shows so much honesty, in fact, it is definitely the most honest book I have ever read. Not only that but this book is witty, its smart and full of banter. This book really did give me a better insight into how I’ve been living my life for the past 9 months and has helped encourage me to seek help with my anxiety.

If you liked this book here is a list of recommended books for you to try:

  • Lisa Williamson: The Art of Being Normal. (The link to buy this book on Amazon is above.
  • Alyssa B Sheinmel: Faceless. Buy it here.
  • Jesse Andrews: Me, Earl and the Dying Girl. Buy it here.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this weeks review!

Check out my other social media:

Instagram: _bbbbethan

Twitter: _bbbethan

With love, B x

Leave a Reply

