Beauty Haul

Hi!

I recently went on a splurge and invested in some new beauty products. I bought all products that I haven’t ever tried and some new skin care to help improve and replenish a little life back into my skin. As a student money is tight and I was fortunate enough to save some money and buy small samples of the Benefit Hoola Bronzer, Roller Lash and Pore fessional Primer and Urban Decay Setting Spray. I didn’t want to purchase full products and waste money on items that I would give away or throw out. I have been trialling these products for almost a week and have been enjoying them, I went to Boots, Superdrug, Debenhams and a small selection through Avon and i’m satisfied with the money I have spent and looking forward to continuing using these products.

Skin Care:

Yes to Grapefruit Facial Wipes – Boots £3.99.

If i’m honest, I purchased these wipes on a whim and I’m actually really happy with them. They smell amazing, the grapefruit is quite clearly scented and it leaves my face smelling wonderful and fruity. The wipes are soft and gentle and are thick meaning that I only require the use of one wipe each time I remove my make up, with some face wipes I have to use two sometimes three wipes to remove my make up but these do what I need perfectly. I will admit, these are the most expensive face wipes I have ever purchased and for only 25 in the packet I almost put them down. However, I’m so thankful that I didn’t and I will definitely be buying them again and trying some of the other Yes To wipes.

Yes to Tomatoes Daily Pore Scrub – Boots £6.99

As I’ve turned 20 my skin has been doing all sorts of things, scaring from teenage acne is clearly shown and my face is more prone to blemishes and redness. I had heard great things about the Yes to skin care and decided to test whether it was worth the money. The scrub is soft which is surprising for a scrub, I had assumed it would be rough. Although it is soft it still cleans and softens the skin and it makes me feel so clean after I’ve used it. Overall, my skin looks in better condition! I have a lot of pores and blackheads around my nose which has always been a problem and combining this scrub with a face mask has helped so much. I love this!

Avon Clear Skin Blackhead Clearing – Avon £1.75

Avon Clear Skin Pore Penetrating – Avon £2.50

Avon for me is a touch and go company, some of their products are wonderful and others just don’t work with me. I purchased these face masks after seeing a friend use them and I hadn’t ever really used face masks before so I thought I would add something different to my skin care routine. Both masks have directions for use on the back explaining to apply a thin layer of the mask across the skin and wait between 10 and 15 minutes until rinsing and to use between 2 and 3 times a week.

I personally have preferred using the pore penetrating face mask over the blackhead clearing face mask. The first time I used the pore penetrating face mask and put make up on the next day, my make up went on amazingly. I often look cake faced around my nose but after using this mask my make up stayed on all day and didn’t look as bad as it usually does. The blackhead clearing mask actually did leave my face feeling softer than the pore penetrating face mask but it didn’t really make any difference to the feel or application of my make up. Although, for the price you can’t go wrong with either! They’re so inexpensive and friendly to your bank balance I totally recommend these face masks and will be purchasing some of the other Avon face masks in the future.

Make up:

Over my time I have tried so many different make up products some of which I have loved and others not so much. These recent purchases were all influenced by beauty Youtubers such as KathleenLights and Zoella.

Kiko Milano Extra Sculpt Volume mascara – £8.90 but bought for £3.90 in the sale.

This mascara has been raved about for so long and KathleenLights always says how much she loved it, as I was shopping in Cardiff I come across the Kiko store that I didn’t even know existed. I obviously ran to there as fast as I could. I noticed there was a sale on all mascaras and now regret not picking up more. This mascara is amazing, my eyelashes look so long and voluminous when I use it, I now understand why it is a favourite of so many people. I will admit that i’m not a huge fan of the size of the wand it’s massive!, but since i’ve only used it a few times i’m sure i’ll get used to it. I don’t use it for my bottom lashes mainly because the wand is so large but it is so generously applied to my top lashes they look amazing. Definitely will re-purchase.

Maybelline Fit me Concealer – Boots £5.99

This concealer is so very popular, every time i’vvisited Boots or Superdrug it’s been out of stock these past few weeks. I was finally able to pick one up and it’s not been a favourite of my recent purchases. I use it for my under eyes and I like to use a concealer that is brightening but I don’t see any difference in brightening when I use it. However, I do like this concealer. Mainly because it is so full coverage I definitely think i’ll use it for spot concealing. I got mine in the shade 10 fair and I just wish there was something lighter available.

NYX Butter Gloss  in Creme Brulee – Boots £5.50

I had this on gloss on my amazon wish list for weeks so when I noticed it was available in Boots I couldn’t help myself. Unfortunately i’m not as in love with this as I wanted it to be. It’s quite nude and it pretty much the same shade as my own lips. The texture is beautiful and so creamy it’s definitely tempted me into buying more of the lip products from NYX.

NYX HD Studio Finishing Powder in Translucent – Boots £8

I’ve recently become known to baking the face, I know i’m a bit delayed. A pintrest post informed me that this powder is a dupe of the Laura Mercier and for the price you cant go wrong. I’ve given it a go and it’s been fantastic, i combined it with the Maybelline Fit Me concealer and its made my under eyes so brightening and look so awake. I’ve also used to set the rest of my face make up and it’s been fantastic. My make up looks so flawless throughout the day, it helps to blend other products so easily and it doesn’t make my under eyes crease. WIN! WIN! WIN! This product has been my favourite purchase and I love it!

Avon Glow Bronzing Powder in Medium Rivierea – £10

This bronzer is fantastic. As I pointed out about, not many of the Avon products blow me away but this one is so lovely to apply and wear. It’s not heavy and isn’t too dark and helps to achieve the nicest bronze look. I cant stop wearing it! I use it for my cheeks and forehead and it brings so much life into my face, what more could I want?

Benefit Hoola Bronzer mini – Boots £10

I bought all three Benefit products through a deal in Boots. 3 benefit products with £10 each and get £5 off. I thought it was a bargain, especially because I hadn’t ever owned any Benefit products and had been dying to try them. Although being a student does mean that I’ve often go to be tight with my money so I was super happy that they were the mini products. The hoola bronzer is just as everybody says, it’s a beautiful contour colour for all skin tones. It makes my cheek bones look like actual cheek bones and sits perfectly on the skin and is long lasting. I love it, once i’ve used this mini product i’ll definitely buy a full sized one.

Benefit Roller Lash mini – Boots £10

I wanted to enjoy this mascara so much and i’m so disappointed with myself for not liking it more. I Tried this mascara for a few days and it done nothing to my eyelashes, they just looked flat and lifeless. I then decided to curl my eyelashes and I liked it better, once curled they looked long and flattering. I do like this mascara I just don’t think it’s as good as the reviews say it is. I personally preferred the Kiko mascara.

Benefit Pore fessional Primer mini- Boots £10

Around my nose and under eye area I have quite clear pores and it’s often a struggle to find foundations that will happily sit in these areas and not look cake-faced or separate. I used this pore fessional primer in hope that it would help with filling my pores, it does! I do think I need to try it a little longer as I’ve only actually used it twice but so far I like it. It lets my foundation sit lovely and it stays in tact all day.

Urban Decay Make Up Setting Spray Travel Sized – Debenhams £9

Finally, the setting spray from Urban Decay is used by so many I decided to jump on the bandwagon. It’s brilliant, I purchased the travel sized bottle from Debenhams for £9 and i’m so glad i did! Firstly, the price of the travel sized bottle gives you 30ml of mist. It’s actually bigger than I had expected and i’m so pleased with it. I used a matte foundation and sprayed this product on before applying make up and when I finished my make up and it helped it look dewy and fresh. I think this is a fantastic product and can’t wait to test out the other two setting sprays from Urban Decay.

There you have it my full beauty haul from my recent purchases. I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, speak soon.

with love, Beth x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

